Get Involved

Women’s Center’s award season is starting - nominations due April 14!

Monday, March 6, 2017

Dear University of Minnesota students, staff, and faculty:

It is our pleasure to announce the call for nominations for the 2017-2018 Women’s Center awards, with a deadline of Friday, April 14, at 4:30 p.m. Each of these awards honor the engagement, contributions, and leadership of University faculty, staff, or students.

Sharon L. Doherty Student Leadership Award -- given to a University of Minnesota student who has demonstrated outstanding volunteer service concerning women's issues on campus or in the broader community.

Charlotte Striebel Equity Award -- recognizes contributions from faculty and staff of any gender who promote access for the common good, help undo bias and discrimination, or build capacity for diverse and equitable campus communities.

Ada Comstock Distinguished Women Scholars Award -- honors the scholarly accomplishments of distinguished women faculty at the University of Minnesota. The 2017 award will go to a scholar from the humanities.

Mullen/Spector/Truax Women's Leadership Award -- honors a faculty or staff woman at the University who has made outstanding contributions to women's leadership development.

Sara Evans Faculty Woman Scholar/Leader Award -- recognizes women faculty at the Twin Cities campus who have achieved significant national and international accomplishments and honors and who contribute to campus as leaders.

We look forward to recognizing the outstanding work and promise of members of our campus. Stay tuned for more information about applications for our gender equity grants and student scholarships, which will have a deadline of June 1.


Women’s Center Staff

For more information including criteria and guidelines, nomination form, and profiles of recipients

Questions? Email                                   


"Perspectives" stories are the views and opinions of their authors and do not necessarily reflect any official position of the University of Minnesota.