Get Involved

Call for Nominations for 2017 Lillian H. Williams Award

Thursday, July 13, 2017

The Office for Equal Opportunity and Affirmative Action (EOAA) invites nominees for the Lillian H. Williams Award. This annual award is named in honor of Lillian H. Williams, the founding director of EOAA.  This award was established in 1986 to recognize individuals and units within the University community who exemplify Ms. William’s spirit and commitment to equal opportunity and affirmative action.

Ms. Williams served as EOAA director from 1972 until her death in 1984. She developed a national presence as one of the founding organizers of the American Association for Affirmative Action (AAAA).  She has been described as a “natural negotiator, creative strategist, and idealistic, yet pragmatic agent for change.”  

We are seeking nominations of individuals and units that have shown deep dedication and effectiveness in their work to promote equity, diversity and inclusion, and/or to prevent and address discrimination and harassment.  

Please provide a one-page nomination of an individual or unit for this important award to Christian Taylor ( in EOAA by August 15, 2017. The staff of the EOAA Office will review the nominations and select an award recipient. 

The recipient of the award will be announced at the EOAA Liaison Conference that will be held in October 2017. In addition, the recipient’s name will be engraved on a plaque that is posted in the EOAA Office with the names of past award recipients.

Past award winners can be found here.


"Perspectives" stories are the views and opinions of their authors and do not necessarily reflect any official position of the University of Minnesota.